What is a Top Down Spiritual Awakening?

A top down kundalini awakening is when divine kundalini energy awakens in one of the upper most chakras of the body and moves its way down the body.

Kundalini awakenings can begin in many ways and from many places in the body.

Though most kundalini awakenings begins with a surge of divine energy starting from the root chakra and working its way up the body, this isn’t the only way.

Top down awakenings beginning in the any of the upper chakras are entirely possible.

> see my article “What Is A Spiritual Awakening”

Top down vs bottom up awakenings

The top down awakening

Those that experience a top down awakening often have a natural preference or inclination towards understanding the divine from a higher consciousness, less grounded, more mental approach.

Top down awakenings usually begin in one of the upper chakras such as the crown chakra, third eye, throat, or heart chakra and emanate out and down the body.

When I had my top down awakening it felt as if my third eye was vibrating like crazy. A few moments later a profound feeling of warm energy starting emanating out of my heart chakra and shooting through the rest of my body. I suspect this was the kundalini opening my heart (that’s usually the chakra I struggle most with, as it’s hard for me to open my heart).

That’s just one example of what a top down kundalini awakening can look like.

The truth is that kundalini awakenings are entirely subjective and can happen in a near infinite amount of ways.

The bottom up awakening

Conversely, those that experience a bottom up awakening are most likely deeply practical and grounded individuals. Unlike top-downers, bottom-uppers don’t love to intellectualize life, instead they prefer living in the real world and not in their heads. These people approach life from a more earthly connected perspective.

This is because bottom up awakenings begin in the root chakra and move upwards. The root chakra is the energy center at the base of your spine that grounds you to earthly reality.

Bottom-uppers have a strong connection with their root chakra, keeping them grounded and stable.



Discover the 6 stages of awakening and find out where you are in your journey.

Bottom up awakenings may be more orgasmic in nature. As the next closest chakra up from the root is the sacral chakra which is responsible for sexual energy. As the kundalini energy passes up into this chakra, sexual pleasure may begin to shoot through the entire body.

Issues that arise from top down awakenings

Those that experience top down awakenings often don’t feel as grounded as those who have bottom up kundalini awakenings.

This can lead to a feeling of anxiety due to detachment from the physical world. You’re consciousness may be so elevated during these experiences you can’t seem to get back down to physical reality again.

This can be a very jarring experience, as it was for me the first time I had a top down awakening.

If you face fear or mental blocks throughout this process it’s important to remember to surrender. Notice the fear and let go completely during these energy surges.

How to manage a top down awakening

First of all, know that there’s no right or wrong way to awaken or to have a kundalini awakening. Whether you’re a top downer or a bottom upper, you’re waking up as your were meant to. Know that despite the issues you may encounter, it’s all part of the process.

The most important part of handing a kundalini awakening is surrendering to the process. You are being divinely guided, so trust in the process and allow the energy to flow through you. Let go completely, surrender, and allow as much as possible.

After top down awakenings its a good idea to practice some grounding exercises such as mindfulness, exercise, walking in nature, and yoga. This will help you reconnect to physical reality.

> see my article “How to Handle an Unexpected Kundalini Awakening”

Hi, I’m Ryan. I’m a meditation teacher, spiritual seeker, and founder of nurtureyourspirit.org. I’m glad you’re here! I founded Nurture Your Spirit because of my love of meditation, spirituality, and spiritual awakening.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover the 6 stages of awakening and find out where you are in your spiritual journey.

This quiz will take only 1 minute to complete

Discover the 6 stages of awakening and find out where you are in your spiritual journey.

This quiz will take only 1 minute to complete